Sumartin on Brac Island
Sumartin has handy ferry connection with Makarska on the Croatian mainland.
The village was established in mid 17th century by refugees from the coastal region of Makarska fleeing from the Turks. Therefore, even nowdays, Sumartin is the only place on the island of Brac in which the Stokavski dialect, or standard Croatian, is still spoken.
The Franciscan monastery in Sumartin, built in 1747 and founded by Croatian poet Andrija Kacic Miosic, has its own archives and museum. The museum has recently been modernized and displays several Venetian Baroque paintings, unique hand drawn multicolored navigation maps and charts as well as medieval jewelry and ethnographic collection. Pre-Romanesque church of Sveti Nikola, with dome from 10th century, is located on hill Glavica above Sumartin village. It is considered to be the votive church of the seafarers, having maintained its sacral function up to now.
Brac hotel reservations - Brac hotels: low rates, no booking fees, no cancellation fees. Save money! online hotel reservations in partnership with Booking.com